Hello? Is This Thing On?

At first, writing my first blog post made me as nervous as a long-tailed cat in a room full of rocking chairs. I procrastinated for a week thinking of all the things I wanted to say, what should take priority, and what should I let go for another day. You’d think I was trying to write a Pulitzer Prize winning presidential address! Yes, I realize that’s not possible – that’s the point. Everything I read basically told me “don’t worry; your first blog post will suck. Everybody’s first blog post sucks.” The more I thought about it, the more I realized that this shouldn’t be that hard. After all, I’ve been writing stuff since I was a kid, poems, short stories, reports, journaling, etc. What makes writing my first blog post any different? I’ll tell you what…nothing except the possible millions of people who might read it or even worse, the resounding echo of crickets filling my page with their songs. Ouch.

So without further ado here we go. I’m going to use the K.I.S.S. method here (Keep it Simple Stupid).

I have three major general fascinations in life. One is people. People fascinate me because of the myriad of things that they do and why. Most people are fascinated by people but they just don’t know it. You need look no further than the last run of “People of Walmart” photos sitting in your email box or plastered all over Facebook to understand this. First we say “Oh my <insert favorite deity here> would you look at that!” Then we inevitably end up saying “What the hell was s/he thinking?” See what I mean? Everyone is fascinated by people. I love to write all kinds of things about people. Of course they’re fictitious people…mostly.

Then there’s food. I love good food! I like to eat it, I like to make it, of course I like to write about it, I even like to photograph it. So much happens with people around food. This is a photo of a dinner I had at the Marine Room in La Jolla, California while we were on vacation a few years ago. I just had to snap a shot because the presentation was so beautiful. My camera work doesn’t do it justice.Who could complain about this exqusite dinner served in front of floor to ceiling windows, at sunset, with the high tide coming right up to the windows? Best dinner ever!

I come by my love of food honestly, my mother and my granny are both great cooks and bakers. When you grow up eating the home made good stuff, things like macaroni and cheese out of a box are just unthinkable, especially when cooking can be so simple.

Last, but definitely not least, is my fascination with the arts. Particularly music and writing, I memorize most songs the first time I hear them and rarely forget them and I devour books like a bunch of piranhas feasting on an unsuspecting swimmer. Too graphic? Oh well. I’ve reached that point in life where chasing the almighty dollar just doesn’t do it for me. Sure, money is nice, but it don’t buy happiness…or love. I think Joseph Campbell really had something when he said when you follow your bliss… doors will open where you would not have thought there would be doors; and where there wouldn’t be a door for anyone else. Life is too short to be worrying about who’s going to die with the most money or the most toys. I want to die knowing I lived my life doing something I love that enriches others in the process.

So to that end, I’d like to share with you my journey in hopes that it might inspire or help you along your own path. Right now my journey is going in a new direction – writing. The goal of this blog is to hone my skills as a writer, give me some material to show, and hopefully help some others along the way. This is my experiment in following my bliss. Feel free to join me ’round the bend.

Leave a Reply

